Bundesliga - top German league football

It was after the decision of the German Football Association on 28 July 1962 in Dortmund for the 1963-64 season introduced.

Get live football scores directly to your mobile

In the Bundesliga in the league system, where each club in return games against every other club compete, the German soccer champion and the participants in the European competitions played. The last two teams to rise in the 2nd Bundesliga, which since 1974 has the second highest league below the Bundesliga forms. The third last team denies relegation games against second-division-third.
Since the founding of the Bundesliga in 1963 played a total of 49 clubs in the highest German league, with the TSG Hoffenheim 1899 came in the 2008/09 season, the 50th Association added. As the only club Hamburger SV is one of the league so far all 46 seasons of uninterrupted. It followed Werder Bremen with 45 and FC Bayern Munich and VfB Stuttgart with 44 each seasons.
The clubs in the Bundesliga so far came almost exclusively from large cities. Only the 1st FC Kaiserslautern, Borussia Neunkirchen, FC 08 Homburg, which SpVgg Unterhaching and the TSG Hoffenheim 1899 came from places with fewer than 100,000 inhabitants. It Unterhaching drew with around 22,000 inhabitants, the lowest number of inhabitants on. From Munich, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Bochum and Cologne, there were two Bundesliga teams of a city. Berlin had with Hertha BSC, Tasmania 1900, Tennis Borussia white and blue-90 four different teams represented in the Bundesliga, but only Hertha and Tebe 1974/75 and 1976/77 in a Berlin city derby in the Bundesliga against each other six months.
The geographical distribution of Bundesliga clubs across the country is uneven. During the 2008/09 season total of seven clubs from North Rhine-Westphalia in the Bundesliga are represented, distribute five clubs on the southern half of the country and four on the north. From the East two teams.
Bundesliga clubs 2008/09 at a glance
  • Hertha BSC
  • Arminia Bielefeld
  • VfL Bochum
  • Werder Bremen
  • Energie Cottbus
  • Borussia Dortmund
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
  • FC Schalke 04
  • Hamburger SV
  • Hannover 96
  • TSG 1899 Hoffenheim (Aufsteiger)
  • Karlsruher SC
  • 1. FC Köln (Aufsteiger)
  • Bayer 04 Leverkusen
  • Borussia Mönchengladbach (Aufsteiger)
  • FC Bayern München (Meister/Pokalsieger)
  • VfB Stuttgart
  • VfL Wolfsburg
With Rhineland-Palatinate, Schleswig-Holstein, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and Thuringia, seven provinces are currently no football team in the highest German league. From Schleswig-Holstein, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia came here there has never been a Bundesliga.
An overview to all clubs that have ever played in the Bundesliga that provides the list of clubs in the Bundesliga.

Current teams in Bundesliga Germany:
Hoffenheim, FC Bayern, Hertha BSC, Bayer, HSV, Dortmund, Werder, Wolfsburg, Schalke, Stuttgart, Koln, Frankfurt, Hannover, Arminia, FC Energie, Bochum, Monchengladbach, Karlsruhe